Riders Claim Back-to-Back BBL Trophy Titles

Category: News
Author: RidersMedia
Date: 19th March, 2017

Leicester Riders won the BBL Trophy for the second consecutive year with a 91-58 victory over the Plymouth Raiders in the Final.

Taylor King picked up the MVP award after finishing with 20 points and 10 rebounds with Pierre Hampton adding 16 points in less than 15 minutes.

King set the tone with the first five points of the game while it took Plymouth four minutes to open their account with a three from Daryl Corletto, who had 20 points in defeat.

The defending champions closed the opening quarter with a 15-0 run as King netted another three at the buzzer to make it 27-7.

King quickly moved to 15 points on 5-of-5 shooting early in the second as Plymouth responded with a bright spell as they cut the gap to 12 with a 12-2 run capped by a Corletto three.

However, Riders put together another strong finish with Eric Robertson netting from beyond the arc to extend the lead beyond 20 points as they kept their opponents to the lowest first half total in Trophy Finals history.

Leicester continued where they left off in the third as the lead continued to grow and they would establish a commanding 72-41 advantage to take into the final 10 minutes and closed out an historic second win in the competition for the club.

The Leicester Riders are back in action at home on Sunday as they take on the Glasgow Rocks at 4pm. Tickets are available for the game by CLICKING HERE.

Article tags: ,

Subscribe To Our Riders Newsletter