Riders cap historic year with 23rd win

Category: News
Author: Leicester Riders
Date: 18th February, 2013

Jelson Homes DMU Leicester Riders claimed a landmark 84-59 victory over Manchester Giants on Saturday night, to become only the fifth team in BBL history to go an entire year unbeaten at home.

Riders last tasted defeat in front of their own fans on 25 February 2012 and, with no more home games this month, are guaranteed to complete the 12-month streak without losing a game.

In terms of consecutive wins, Leicester are now equal third on the BBL’s all-time list, matching Worthing’s effort of 1992-93. Riders have the opportunity to move past the Bears both in terms of wins and time when they host Worcester Wolves in the BBL Trophy semi-final second leg at John Sandford Sports Centre on Saturday 2 March.

The victory over the Giants was their 23rd in a row, already twice as long as the club’s previous best mark of 11 consecutive wins. As well as holding the current record, Coach Rob Paternostro was also at the helm during the equal second and equal fourth longest club streaks.

Sheffield’s 27 game, 13 month long winning run in 2002-03 is second on the BBL list, but there is still a long way to go for Riders to threaten the all-time BBL record. Kingston won 35 consecutive domestic games during a two year spell between December 1989 and December 1991, albeit they lost some European ties during that time.

Article tags: ,

Subscribe To Our Riders Newsletter