Leicester Riders are Back-to-Back Treble Champions

Category: News
Author: RidersMedia
Date: 21st May, 2018

Leicester Riders become only the second club in BBL history to complete back-to-back treble winning seasons, taking a 81-60 victory over the London Lions in the BBL Playoff Final to secure the third piece of silverware for the club.

The Riders had already taken the BBL League title and the BBL Trophy crown for the third year running in both competitions as they traveled to The O2 in London for the clubs fifth Playoff Final in the last seven seasons.

Head Coach Rob Paternostro was pleased with the victory after a long season.

“I feel that we are a Championship team and today we wanted to do it on the defensive end. I said in the locker room at half time not to worry about the offence, the shot would go down when we need them to.

“We wanted to do it on the defensive end, and to hold them to 62 when they are a team that average more than 80 really shows how much these guys care about that end of the floor.” 

TrayVonn Wright was named MVP of the game with 11 points and 13 rebounds alongside some of his trademark high flying dunks.

“We came out as a team and played hard defence and followed our coaches game plan. We played well and did our jobs individually and as a team and that normally works well.”

Leicester Riders will celebrate at the Morningside Arena, Leicester on May 25th at the Riders Celebration Evening and then enter the off-season period with further announcements on roster and 2018-19 preseason fixtures coming soon.

Article tags: , ,

Subscribe To Our Riders Newsletter