Charnwood College Riders are Haris 2018 Champions

Category: News
Author: RidersMedia
Date: 30th December, 2018

Charnwood College Riders took victory at the annual Haris Memorial Tournament for a second year in a row this festive break.

The Charnwood College Riders fell to fellow finalists Myerscough College in the opening game, 82-89 before bouncing back for victories against CB Nova School, 90-85 and Haris Select, 94-59 to set up a semi-final against Blue Ridge.

In the semi-final Charnwood College Riders pulled off a 74-82 victory over Blue Ridge behind a huge 25 point performance from Niall Harris to land themselves back in the final to face a familiar Myerscough team.

In the final Charnwood found themselves out in front behind a big performance again from Haris, pouring in 21 first half points and guarding Myerscough College’s biggest threat in Mate Okros. Myercough clawed back into the game late but a big three from Blaze Sagna and clutch play from Harris sealed the victory and their second title in two years.

Niall Harris capped an incredible tournament with a tournament high 39 points, 17 rebounds, 3 assists and 3 steals in the final to be named MVP of the event.

Head Coach Will Maynard was pleased with the teams performance and proud to have taken the title for a second year in a row.

Niall Harris led the tournament in scoring on route to the MVP award but final year Joe Bielak added 13.2ppg to finish 9th in scoring over the three days.

The full winning roster contained Niall Harris, Blaize Sagna, Joe Bielak, Josh Lloyd, Ethan Damerum, Charlie Lowe, Moyo Adekeye, Greg Wild, Darnell Stewart, Izaak Patrick, Dane Carr and Shae Parnell and was coached by Will Maynard, Krumesh Patel, Oli Parr and Liam Jefferson.


Subscribe To Our Riders Newsletter